Apple, it just works. Except it doesn't. - Page 2 - S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

Notices
Off Topic and General Discussion Off topic forum - Serious discussion, Current Affairs, News, Help & Advice

Apple, it just works. Except it doesn't.

 
Old 11-20-2018, 11:46 PM
  #11  
UK Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Herts
Posts: 23,838
Thanked 81 Times in 79 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
What lame wifi router are you using that's not using WPA2 security protocol? This has been available since 2004.



-- Chuck
What are you on about?

1) Not my router
2) It says it requires a WPA2 password.
3) Trying to connect to my phone as a wifi hot spot it returned the same message.

The only thing lame here would appear to be the Mac as everything else connects to the router with no problems whatsoever.
lovegroova is offline  
Old 11-21-2018, 02:06 AM
  #12  
 
Nick Graves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hertford
Posts: 30,821
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Will it connect to any other W-Fis?

It might be broken and it's not like you can delve into the firmware to fix it...
Nick Graves is offline  
Old 11-21-2018, 04:54 AM
  #13  
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chesterfield VA
Posts: 6,789
Thanked 211 Times in 205 Posts
Default

You trying to use this device as a hub? Passwords are usually controlled by the router.

Just did a google search for "Macbook pro WPA2 password" and this is a very common problem going back several years.

-- Chuck
Chuck S is offline  
Old 11-21-2018, 06:10 AM
  #14  
UK Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Herts
Posts: 23,838
Thanked 81 Times in 79 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Nick Graves View Post
Will it connect to any other W-Fis?

It might be broken and it's not like you can delve into the firmware to fix it...
See above, it wouldn't connect to my phone when that was set up to be a hot spot (same message as when trying to connect to her home hub), so it seemingly won't connect to anything.

Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
You trying to use this device as a hub? Passwords are usually controlled by the router.

Just did a google search for "Macbook pro WPA2 password" and this is a very common problem going back several years.

-- Chuck
Try reading the thread and you will get a better understanding of the problem and what I tried to solve it.

I too googled but the answers were not clear, many referring to the keychain thing anypandypoos mentioned above, which I was not aware of as a non-mac person.

Every other device has had no problem connecting to the home hub, (her iphone, her lodger's pc and phone, my phone, her TV), so it's definitely a problem with the mac.

It's all a bit shit given how "easy" and "intuitive" Macs are supposed to be...
lovegroova is offline  
Old 11-22-2018, 02:11 AM
  #15  
 
Nick Graves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hertford
Posts: 30,821
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Yeah, I saw that.

But it might be worth trying to connect it to a MacD's network or something, just to ascertain that it is a POS and not a weird local environmental issue.

Likelihood is, it's the former. Good luck persuading the Apple brigade that it's the machine and not you.
Nick Graves is offline  
Old 11-22-2018, 05:48 AM
  #16  
 
Nottm_S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 19,114
Thanked 51 Times in 51 Posts
Default

my advice is still the optimal solution

toxic metallic inflatables excepted
Nottm_S2 is offline  
Old 11-22-2018, 08:29 AM
  #17  
UK Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Herts
Posts: 23,838
Thanked 81 Times in 79 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Nottm_S2 View Post
my advice is still the optimal solution

toxic metallic inflatables excepted
It's what I'd do. Then again she's in meedja, so needs the additional creative abilities a Mac has

(More relevantly, her work gives her a Mac, so it makes sense for her to have one for home use).
lovegroova is offline  
Old 11-23-2018, 09:33 AM
  #18  
 
unclefester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Herts some place
Posts: 12,534
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

How to connect to a WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK wireless network - Mac OS X Hints

Try that Simon - looks like you have to add a WPA protected network in a specific ( labouriously shite ) way.
unclefester is offline  
Old 11-24-2018, 04:38 AM
  #19  
UK Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Herts
Posts: 23,838
Thanked 81 Times in 79 Posts
Default

Solved it.

As the macbook only has two ports on it, you have to use a USB hub to connect it anything.

Due to the shit design, one fix is this:

Seriously.

However, this didn't work in this instance. Plugging the hub into the other port solved it.

What a joke.

Last edited by lovegroova; 11-24-2018 at 09:45 AM.
lovegroova is offline  
Old 11-24-2018, 04:50 AM
  #20  
 
Nick Graves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hertford
Posts: 30,821
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Thank you Simon.

That was a good laugh.
Nick Graves is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands