Ohio S2000 Club Ohio S2000 Owners Club

Third time's the charm?

Old 04-23-2016, 02:45 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Third time's the charm?

It's crazy to think my love affair with the S2000 began 12 years ago when I got my first. (JHo and I were joking last weekend, that now we're the 'old guys' of the group!) That first car, a 2002 Sebring Silver/Black S2000 was several things to me. Mainly, a realization of a dream of a car I'd had since I was in my final year of high school in 2000. When I graduated from college in 2004, I was able to make that dream a reality and found a 10,000 mile, pristine example for sale and swooped it up. The people I met (some still here!), times we all had together, and events which forever engrained the 'car bug' in me, are very much attributed to that car. Further, it's affectionately the car which gave me the nickname 'iceman', for obvious reasons looking back at the photo's.... Chrome? Really?!

Nonetheless, fast forward to 2007, and a few cars in between, owning an S2000 crossed my mind again. This time, owning a new GPW S2000 was a possibility. I called Honda Marysville to place an order on a 2007 GPW/Red,Black, and was surprised to hear one was to have been delivered a few weeks thereafter which wasn't yet spoken for. Needless to say, this became my second S2000, also one of which I have fond memories of Dragon trips, a few Mid-O weekends, and in general, being the garage queen most of my cars are. I parted ways with that car in 2009, and again, ever since, I've wanted another one...