Photography and Videography Tips, techniques and equipment for taking great photographs and videos. Come here for advice and critique on your photos and videos. To show off your S2000 go to The Gallery

Amateur questions on shooting with an SLR

Old 05-19-2007, 08:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Amateur questions on shooting with an SLR

I recently purchased a Canon Rebel XTi with the 18-55 kit lens expecting to shoot nice pictures, however they are not coming out as sharp as I want them to be. My pictures look dull as if they're from a point and shoot. Is this because of the lens or is it my skills/settings on the camera?

Bear in mind that I took most of my shots in auto landscape mode and some in manual. Also, I'm shooting in JPEG, will shooting in RAW give me what I want? Here's a link to what I've been shooting.

http://picasaweb.google.com/jdmkevin/Miscellaneous

This is a good example of what I want my pictures to look like. Will adding a CP help?

I'm new to the SLR world and criticisms are very welcome. Thanks.
Old 05-19-2007, 11:20 PM

i'm just starting up also on SLR with an XT. for the few weeks i've used mine, i've had to postprocess most images. also, i suggest sticking to RAW format. JPEG is a compressed format. when shooting RAW, you basically retain all data from the image sensor.. like a digital negative.

i didn't like how my shots were comin' out also when i first got my slr. but the major thing i've learned from it is knowing how to compose your shot.
Old 05-20-2007, 02:02 AM
Former Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to the D-SLR world - it is a cool place!

My suggestions: start by picking up a book called "The Digital Photography Book: How to make your photos look like the pros!" by Scott Kelby (About $15 on Amazon). It is the best beginners book I've ever seen.