Photography and Videography Tips, techniques and equipment for taking great photographs and videos. Come here for advice and critique on your photos and videos. To show off your S2000 go to The Gallery

DSLR Newb

Old 03-26-2013, 12:51 PM

Received 423 Likes on 298 Posts
Default DSLR Newb

Ok, outside of point and shoots I have no experience. I did my research and bought a Sony A57 because it fit my budget, needs and got better reviews for video, (which is a priority) over similar priced Canon and Nikon products.

Now after looking into lenses, I opted to pay extra for a discontinued kit lens which is a 18-135 than the standard 18-55 kit. The 18-135 got very good reviews where the 18-55 was rated passable. I like some zoom option, but to be honest wide angle is going to be my primary concern. I will do some stills, but lots of video and we are generally talking about things like the Grand Canyon, Machu Picchu, mountain skiing kind of stuff. So super zoom is not important.

Now to my question........Is there a big difference in the look of capturing a large vista landscape like mountains or whatever between an 11mm lens over a 16mm?

I would like to buy one more lens to start for a mountain hike and have essentially two choices both at about $600-$700 each, and both get really great reviews. One is a Sony 16-50 which will give me more range of options but overlaps my first lens some, although with better IQ. The second option is a Tokina 11-16mm. Will going down to 11mm bring a bigger wow factor for landscapes than a good 16mm or will the difference be slight and the added range of the 16mm-50mm be a better buy? The 16-50 might help me avoid a little barrel distortion where it overlaps with my kit lens, but I still want the grand landscape shot and maybe the Tokina is better?

Having no experience with what a landscape shot difference is between 11 and 16mm, I have no clue if the scope difference in the shot is major or minor.

Thanks

John
Old 03-27-2013, 06:55 AM