Photography and Videography Tips, techniques and equipment for taking great photographs and videos. Come here for advice and critique on your photos and videos. To show off your S2000 go to The Gallery

Indoor rock concert

Old 08-20-2007, 08:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Indoor rock concert

This was my first attempt to shoot a "nightlife-esque" event. I am new to indoor photography but trying to get acquainted with nightlife. This was a rock concert in a club scene.
Gallery: http://www.flickr.com/gp/11453848@N07/thg234

My equipment:
D80
Tamron 17-50 f/2.8
Nikon 80-200 f/2.8
Speedlight SB-600 w/ diffuser pointed at 45 degrees forward
Batteries were fully charged; both camera and flash.
Handheld entire evening

I was shooting: ISO 400, 1/60 shutter, f/2.8, auto white balance, flash was set to TTL-BL. The straight on shots were from the 80-200 and the shots from stage left and right were with the 17-50.

I had to post-process every photo and increase the exposure as well as brightness. I also dialed down the saturation to normalize the skin tones b/c the background lighting made everything orange/red. I am looking for advice on how to perfect the settings and I hope the photos provide enough information to describe the environment.

I am happy with the final photos, but I would like to take better photos so I can minimize the post processing.

Should I take off the diffuser? More ISO? Stop down? Faster shutter? Better location? Point flash forward, instead of angled up?

Basically, how do I get my shots to look like F1-Fanatic's in his latest post: https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=517061!!!!!!!
Old 08-20-2007, 02:18 PM

Originally Posted by the dumontster,Aug 20 2007, 11:30 AM
Basically, how do I get my shots to look like F1-Fanatic's in his latest post: https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=517061!!!!!!!
Cough... You read his post.. Cough.... or you just come right to the horses mouth