Photography and Videography Tips, techniques and equipment for taking great photographs and videos. Come here for advice and critique on your photos and videos. To show off your S2000 go to The Gallery

Making the jump from Flim SLR/Compact Digi to DSLR

Old 04-17-2008, 09:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making the jump from Flim SLR/Compact Digi to DSLR

I'm making the jump from compact digi (Nikon 'Coolpix' 5200) and film SLR (Nikon F100), and I think I've narrowed it down to three choices.

Pentax K200D, Canon 450D XSi, or Nikon D80

Nearly all of the flim SLR work I do now is outdoors stuff, mostly wildlife and landscapes, with some macro, and a bit of action. Of course, I also like taking pictures of cars, but who doesn't! I've been using the same film SLR for a good 8 years now, and picked up the compact digi about 4 years ago.

I much prefer the versatility of the digital format, but I'm getting frustrated with the lack of quality in my compact digi, even compared to my nearly decade old film SLR.

I decided to go with something intermediate level to jump into the DSLR thing, and I think one of these three would be the best fit for me.

The Pentax appeals to me because of the weather proofing. Since I do a lot outdoors, it's very nice to be secure in knowing that a little dust, blowing sand, fog, mist, or light rain won't do any damage. It's also my understanding that the photographs it captures are excellent for a camera in the sub-$1000 range, and it's fairly powerful in terms of adjustability. On the downside, I've heard the camera can be a little slow. The buffer size is small enough that it's difficult to get more than a few rapid-fire images of a moving subject, and I've also been told tha the autofocus system isn't the fastest.