S2000 Body and Paint Body kits, paint, ding repair and related discussions

Car Paint Instructions

Old 11-22-2009, 03:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car Paint Instructions

Hey guys. I’m looking to start doing some body work and paint, but have only found less than stellar write ups on how to paint cars or do body work. I have a large compressor, garage, and paint gun. I have some experience with painting cars but I’m looking for a thorough read up on how to do paint and body work properly. Any links or books would be greatly appreciated.

Also, great new section that came at a perfect time.
Old 11-22-2009, 05:22 PM

what are you trying to accomplish? a full color change?
Old 11-22-2009, 05:30 PM

im going to start shooting hardtops soon.. ill do a write up on that in the next few weeks.
Old 11-22-2009, 05:53 PM

that would be great. even the mixture ratio that you used. on each stage. and the product line, I know there is alot of them out there, and i wonder which one matches the best.
Old 11-23-2009, 03:35 PM

Im planning on doing hardtop paint within the next couple weekends. Also fixing rock chips and respraying the bumpers.
Old 11-27-2009, 02:08 PM

Every product line that sells paint has there weaknesses. Some paint lines match euro colors better some import or American better it doesn't matter if it's ppg or sherwin Williams that has the biggest library of colors know to man. There is know "good write ups" paint and body work is not like mechanics where they're can be a written diy of instructions because most things are visual and through experience. A good start though would be goin through the ASE books I believe it's b1-b5 if i remember correctly been a long time since I had to take a test. Even on the written test none of answers on the test were even in the book they were all experience based questions and this was for ase certification for painting and refinishing. Hope this helps
Old 11-28-2009, 12:15 PM