S2000 Body and Paint Body kits, paint, ding repair and related discussions

JDM BBS Wheels - Detail or Refinish?

Old 12-23-2017, 06:39 AM

Received 256 Likes on 219 Posts
Default JDM BBS Wheels - Detail or Refinish?

Not sure this is the best sub-forum for my questions. But, here goes.

I just purchased a set of JDM BBS Honda OEM 16" wheels for my S2k. They are in very good condition. They have some finish imperfections and I am trying to decide whether to have them professionally refinished, (paint and clear coat). I believe they have their original finish now. I can't tell if there is a clear coat on this original finish - anyone know?

There is no curb rash. None. That is a good thing.

One or two wheels have minor surface scratching. Is this something that could be buffed out somehow? I am not very experienced with detailing - but I do have a porter cable DA polisher if that is helpful. I have not done this sort of work much so advice from the experts about how to approach this - if at all - would be helpful.

One wheel (see pics) has a stripe around the inside of the barrel. The pic shows the worst of it. It looks like it is raised - might be material that has been sitting on there a long time and it is not going to come off with simple soap and water. It might have caused some etching - not easy to tell. It almost looks like something was slinging off the rotor? What is the best approach to deal with that without doing any physical damage and to try to preserve the underlying original finish??

Is there is a way to deal with these issues at home? In the end, if the at home efforts don't work, I'll probably have them refinished. I am not interested in refinishing them myself although I know that is possible. If I do it, I'll spend the money and have it done professionally.

Your thoughts?

Last edited by rpg51; 12-23-2017 at 07:23 AM.
Old 12-23-2017, 08:19 AM

Received 3,373 Likes on 2,452 Posts