S2000 Body and Paint Body kits, paint, ding repair and related discussions

OEM Fenders? Why is this gap so big?

Old 05-02-2018, 03:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OEM Fenders? Why is this gap so big?

Hey guys, new here. Just purchased a 06 S2K and it has quite the large gap between the wheels and fenders. Seems pretty odd to me although i'm really new to S2Ks. I can't tell if the wheels are just small or the fenders were stretched or something. anyone have any idea? Looking to go circuit garage flares and I just wanted to make sure I would be fine with that. And I was also thinking 18x9.5 fronts and 18x11 rears? Any advice is welcome and appreciated. Thank you!
Old 05-02-2018, 03:55 AM

Received 1,132 Likes on 995 Posts

This is what the car suspension looks like. It enables you to get in and out of driveways and drive over speed bumps without tearing off things under the car or the front bumper. Black makes it hard to tell if the fenders were pulled -- may have been since there are several non OEM items visible.

The car has "AP2V2" wheels which were fitted to '06 and '07 cars but the seats are out of something earlier as the open headrest was eliminated in 2006. Is the car DriveByWire? Just confirming it's an '06 as the seats are distracting me.

I doubt you or I can handle these cars to their performance capabilities in stock form so I see no reason to bugger them with lowered suspensions and larger wheels. Look that word up if you're unsure my meaning. I don't claim my opinion is the majority one. Good tires are the paramount item anyway. I've run Bridgestone and Dunlop Extreme Summer and Max tires and am fine with the latest generations of Max. (Bridgestone S-04.)

-- Chuck
Old 05-02-2018, 04:11 AM