S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

2002 OEM shock is leaking.. Looking for replacements - Advice?

Old 03-21-2019, 01:56 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2002 OEM shock is leaking.. Looking for replacements - Advice?

First and foremost I will openly say that I am an S2000 noob (so please bear with me) and your guidance is most appreciated. I love to drive cars though know very little about fixing them. With that being said, the front left Shock is leaking fluid (original MY02) and have been told that it is probably time to replace it (and Change the others to maintain consistency). Additional info - I will soon be upgrading from the AP1 wheels to AP2V2 wheels. It's not really a DD though I do enjoy taking it out for "spirited driving" down some mountain roads.

I prefer the car to remain about stock height. and would like for the handling/feel to remain similar to stock or ideally, get better. Willing to spend some money to get it right, though nothing over the top though.

So in laymen's terms (bc I am a noob) what would be the best option for the application that I am looking for (backroads/highway)?

From my understanding based off reading other posts I could:
  • Buy new OEM shocks (keep original springs)
  • Buy new OEM CR Shock and CR Springs (Hearing this could greatly improve handling and can get a discount from honda..)
  • Buying aftermarket shocks such as ones from Koni w/stock springs
  • Coilovers
I've looked all over the forums and it really has left me more confused than when I started. Appreciate your advice and experiences ahead of time.

Last edited by BigZazS2K; 03-21-2019 at 01:59 PM.
Old 03-21-2019, 02:08 PM

Received 345 Likes on 322 Posts

get a second hand 02 one or save for coilovers & maybe all bush replacements =$2k^+the coilovers
Old 03-21-2019, 02:10 PM

Received 1,247 Likes on 944 Posts