S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

BBK worth it?

Old 11-30-2018, 12:09 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default BBK worth it?

Stoptech BBK Is It Worth It?

Hey guys, wanted to share my reasoning for purchasing a BBK as I tend to over analyze expensive upgrades on the S I figured maybe others could benefit from my analysis especially since a lot of us guys who are track rats are judged as poseurs for even considering a BBK.

Here’s my situation which I think is similar to many s2000 owners. I drive the car in nice weather, it’s not my daily and I do 3-5 track days a year which I have only been doing for a few years so I’m no pro.

If you’re doing 15+ or even 10 track days a year I think a BBK is a no brainer and will pay for itself quickly in less consumables. If you’re not doing any track days I would say it’s completely pointless. With 3-5 track days a year the general consensus on here is that a BBK Is not worth the investment. People seem to be adamant that you shouldn’t buy a BBK at that level and especially if your new to tracking, blah blah.

I did my own analysis with a fairly detailed spreadsheet using estimates on pad life based on tons of posts from others in s2ki and it turns out that the difference in running costs should be significantly lower even with 5 track days a year. Enough so that it would only take 5 years to pay off the entire BBK ($2000). However that’s really not necessary to make it worthwhile investment as the kit has easily a $1000 resale meaning you only really need to save $1000 in consumables to justify the purchase from a purely financial perspective which would only take 2.5 years.

Even without the financials making sense however there are a lot of other reasons I decided they were a worthwhile purchase.