S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

Help - Ohlins DFV Setup Questions

Old 08-10-2018, 07:45 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Exclamation Help - Ohlins DFV Setup Questions

I'm in need of some guidance on setting up my Ohlins DFV coilovers. Please chime in on my initial set up and adjustment procedures. Also, please share your front / rear preload settings and how much you lowered your car from the factory starting points.

Before we begin: I am somewhat new to setting up suspension. Yes, I searched and read many posts. I also found the Sakebomb Garage rear preload chart and did my best to interpret it. I just haven't found anything the answers the questions I have.

2004 S2k
Ohlins DFV coilovers with stock valving
Swift springs - 12kg front & 10kg rear
17x9 Volk CE28n +45
Bridgestone RE71-R 245-40-17 (square set up, brand new tires, equal pressures)
Fenders are not rolled
Zero additional suspension mods
Measurements are done with digital calipers

My set up so far is:
- 2mm preload on front and rear springs.
- I was told the stiffer 12kg / 10kg springs give me the preload equivalent of 7mm in the front and 9mm in the rear as they don't compress as much and have more resistance to bumps
- Since the DFV's have a +/- 15mm of adjustment, I would essentially have 8mm left to lower the car in the front and 6mm left in the rear to lower the car.Is this correct?????

More issues:
- My fender gaps are wildly noticeable on all four corners. Is adjusting the lower fork on an individual shock body the proper method to raise / lower the car as long as I stay within the +/- 15mm range?

Opinions Wanted??
- If you have the spring rates listed above, how low can the car be while keeping a safe amount of suspension travel (i.e. not hitting the bump stops or the fender)?

THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR THE HELP!
Old 08-10-2018, 08:21 PM

Received 1,247 Likes on 944 Posts