S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

Poly Bushing vs Spherical Top Mount

Old 11-03-2014, 04:38 AM

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Poly Bushing vs Spherical Top Mount

Doing research on new coilovers I came across this article.

http://farnorthracing.com/autocross_secrets5.html

Go toward the bottom and you will see a section regarding upper shock/spring mounts (top hats).

Obviously the OEM versions come with compliant rubber. Many better coilovers come with a spherical bearing. The GC design comes with a poly bushing that looks fixed.

Is the poly bushing a good design? Does the shock shaft need to pivot more?
Old 11-03-2014, 08:52 PM

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

I'm no suspension expert, but as the suspension compresses and gains camber angle, I would guess that the damper, where the top hat is located, would want to be able to articulate accordingly with the camber angle such that as the damper compresses minimal amounts of lateral force are working against the shaft. The poly bushing, to me, would resist the lateral pivot which would put lateral force against the shaft. That would be my guess.

I would go with spherical, if it wasn't a daily driver and sees mostly track/competition duty.

Interestingly, in another thread we were talking about top hats and apparently the Integra Type R DC2, which uses the same top hat components as the s2000 has a rubber bushing made of a harder rubber (durometer rating). It would be interesting to see if that bushing makes an appreciable difference.

FYI, GC also makes a spherical extended top hat that s2000 owners have adapted to all sorts of coilovers.
Old 11-04-2014, 06:41 AM

You described it exactly. I would guess a poly bushing would bind ever slightly. Also if the upper mount is also the upper spring mount that means the spring will also be pushed laterally slightly.
Old 11-04-2014, 12:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts