S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   S2000 Brakes and Suspension (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-brakes-suspension-249/)
-   -   Tein Flex Z - Detailed Info/Review Thread (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-brakes-suspension-249/tein-flex-z-detailed-info-review-thread-1174095/)

DefSport 06-13-2017 06:31 AM

Tein Flex Z - Detailed Info/Review Thread

3 Attachment(s)
I thought I'd create a thread showing some detailed info of these coilovers for those curious. I took a chance on these without much "hard data" out there, hoping that Tein did their homework and they'd perform well even though they're priced very aggressively. I've got to say, I'm very pleased with the result. As a bit of background on me, I've put together and driven all sorts of suspension systems on cars, from Koni, Bilstein, many of the Japanese/Taiwanese/Chinese brands, JRZ, Penske, Moton etc. I've been driving on track for 15 years now, so I get around just fine, and know what a good handling car feels like. Not saying I'm a definitive expert, but I do have a clue, and can drive a car on track at the limit consistently.

SUMMARY

Onto the coilovers - general impressions are very high overall quality. Honestly, for made in Japan coilovers, I was shocked at the high quality given the price point. The damping curves are generally good, with the car not crashing over bumps or feeling uncontrolled at a given "stiffness" (or level of damping). It's very easy to go from the comfortable for a bumpy street under damped level, to a slightly over damped setting for track or spirited driving. The travel is good, with the car staying up off the bumpstops in typical cornering. The 10k spring rates are a good blend of street vs. track. You can totally daily drive these, but they're actually very good on track too.

STREET IMPRESSIONS