S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   S2000 Electronics (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-electronics-26/)
-   -   Replacement radio dash control (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-electronics-26/replacement-radio-dash-control-1188644/)

Johnsfolly 10-03-2018 08:30 AM

Replacement radio dash control

A newbie here.
Time for my OEM radio to go. The CD player doesn't work and I'f like to have Bluetooth to stream music and podcasts from my phone.
As I'm leaving shortly for a major Michigan-Massachusetts-Georgia-Michigan roadtrip, I was just going to go to BestBuy and have them install something that does what I need. They claim they have the interface stuff to make "steering wheel controls" work.
Will this enable me to keep the dash controls doing what they do? Or do I need to buy the Modifry DCI and the DCI harness?
I've done radio swaps myself and also had one "professionally" done and I had no complaints about the installation the stereo store did for me.
Any advice? Thanks in advance.
John

Manga_Spawn 10-03-2018 08:46 AM

I wouldn't trust best buy to touch my car but when they say steering wheel controls it should mean the dash controls as well I would think. I use the modifry DCI and their plug and play harness. Makes the install super easy. just take out OEM stereo, plug in new aftermarket unit. Test and your all set.

DCIs (Dash Control Interface)

Kyle 10-03-2018 08:55 AM

Buy a DCI and PnP harness for the brand of radio you’re getting and install it yourself. S2k was legitimately the easiest car I’ve ever installed a radio in; compound that with the pnp dci and its a half hour job.

clio 10-03-2018 02:51 PM

+1 Modifry DCI is the way to go

Johnsfolly 10-04-2018 08:22 AM