S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

Smell of fuel in the oil.

Old 10-14-2011, 01:20 PM
vbb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smell of fuel in the oil.

Who else has it?

I've posted a thread about this in Under the Hood, but I'm having trouble getting straight answers. I'm new to the aftermarket turbo system crowd, having boosted my S2000 for all of 300 miles now. It's the stock Greddy kit at 8lbs with the Emanage Ultimate (tuned), 550 RC injectors and Walbro 255lph fuel pump. I've also got a test pipe and an HKS dual exhaust if that matters. I did an oil change when installing the turbo so it has only seen fresh Valvoline SynPower.

Short question is this: is it normal to smell some fuel in the oil, or is it always a sign of potential problems?

After getting a "system too rich" CEL I decided to smell my oil at the dipstick because of what I read on the boards. It smelled a bit like gasoline to me. It wasn't overpowering, but the smell was there. For comparison sake, I pulled the dipstick in my TSX and it also smelled a little bit like gas, though not as strong as in the S2000. Just to be on the safe side, I went ahead and did an oil change on the S2000 and haven't driven it since.

Here's a sample of what my oil looked like after roughly 300mi of usage:

I don't know if that is too dark, normal, or what. There's no gasoline that I can SEE in the oil, but I'm afraid of fuel wash/bore wash because of the smell. Maybe I'm being too paranoid, I don't know. During my tuning session I was mid-11s AFR at WOT and in the mid 13s at idle. A little richer than stock, but not crazy rich I wouldn't think. My tuner says I'm getting the CEL because it is a piggyback and the car isn't seeing exactly stock AFRs, but that I'm safe, and not so rich that I need to be worried about washing my motor. I'm installing a wideband this weekend to make sure those are still the numbers I'm getting.