S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

DIY fiberglass painting

Old 02-02-2009, 10:51 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default DIY fiberglass painting

so i just picked up a Veilside Tonneau cover from a fellow member on here. its black and as you can see my car is red. i tried it on and it looks SICK but being black it looks somewhat out of place so I would like to paint it.
I got some high quotes for it because of the odd shape so I figured what the hell, why not just paint it myself and learn how to do so.

im pretty sure its made out of fiberglass. I'm having trouble finding a good guide online as to how to approach something like this.

It seems like i just need to sand it , paint it then clearcoat it. Since I'm not a pro and have no professional tools , i considered spraypainting it red since NFR is a pretty average looking red.

any ideas, tips, advice?
Old 02-02-2009, 11:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Spend the money. Black or white are one thing, but if you don't match the paint EXACTLY right then it's gonna stick out like a sore thumb.

Don't spend the money for the part and cheap out on paint.
Old 02-02-2009, 12:04 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by txchopper5,Feb 2 2009, 12:45 PM
Spend the money. Black or white are one thing, but if you don't match the paint EXACTLY right then it's gonna stick out like a sore thumb.

Don't spend the money for the part and cheap out on paint.
i agree, don't start practicing on such a large piece for your S
Old 02-02-2009, 12:16 PM

yeah please dont try and paint thatyourself. you can pratice sanding and priming which will bring the cost down. even though you have the paint code it probably wont be the same tint due to the fact that just about every color is slightly diffrent.
Old 02-02-2009, 12:16 PM