S2000 Naturally Aspirated Forum Discussions about N/A motor projects, builds and technology.

NA mods-any gains with no tune

Old 12-01-2018, 02:42 PM

Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default NA mods-any gains with no tune

I've been tracking my S2000 for a few years now mostly stock. Its a great platform and I've decided to slowly start modding it for track use. Currently it has a stock intake and exhaust with only with a test pipe added.
So among the changes I'm considering engine bolt ons. Partly for the power but mostly for the weight reduction, especially with the exhaust. I already picked up a FIPK for a good price and theres another local deal on a HKS single.
Question is, can I expect to make any power with these mods with no tune? I know any gains will not be significant and I don't expect much on the top end but what about the mid range? I've heard that you can even lose power in some cases(bad intake design) and that would be worst case scenario because I would just rather keep the stock set up in that case.
Pic for attention-My S2 in its element

Old 12-01-2018, 06:14 PM

Received 123 Likes on 98 Posts

Not really, but if you get the Karcepts tune w/ Greddy EMU or another ECU that will extend the VTEC engagement window (along with the usual dyno tune adjustments) you're going to notice a pretty huge difference over stock.
Old 12-01-2018, 11:41 PM
Community Organizer

Received 551 Likes on 503 Posts