S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Lower vtec help improve lap times?

Old 06-25-2016, 05:39 AM

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Lower vtec help improve lap times?

I am no pro driver so sometimes it is difficult to keep my f20c on the high cam. Certaint corners I have noticed I can go a little faster by getting into the high gear sooner. However there is a second or so where the engine falls off the high cam and then comes back on. For those that track n/a have you found it helps you to have the high cam come in sooner. Maybe around 5k??

I have the supporting bolt ons like 3.5 CAI and HFC. Otherwise it's pretty much stock.

In a world where it seems like everything else on the track has 400+ hp, an s2k on the high cam is like bringing a knife to a gun fight. On the low cam, it's like bringing a stick!!!
Old 06-25-2016, 07:38 AM

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts

I was looking to get a vafc to lower voted but doesn't seem like many people do this. Not sure how much I need to spend in tuning

I know on a 06 with flash pro the power is nice everywhere.
Old 06-25-2016, 07:43 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It might be a hair faster, but even if it was, what would be the point? You're still going to be slower than a lot of cars on the track. And trust me, they won't notice or care that you are 0.5 seconds faster in your lap times. You also won't really get any personal satisfaction because you will not have improved as a driver. Since you're not racing competitively the actual lap time does not matter.

If you want some advice, focus not on what the other cars are doing, or what they might be thinking of you. Work on carrying more speed in the turns and work on your shift points so that you don't spend time out of VTEC. Your times will improve and you'll have the satisfaction of having done it through driver improvement, not car modification.