S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

More DE than racer

Old 04-07-2019, 02:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default More DE than racer

I researched some old threads but would appreciate advice.

I've been doing DE's for 20 years and i'm a pca instructor (8 years).....had a highly modified 944 turbo for many years....actually still have it. I took the s2000 to the track (because I threw a rod on the 944t) just to have a car to instruct my students. I really wasn't expecting much, I mean......really how good could this car be....I was blown away. This is an 06 with 88K that I bought on a whim for my wife because I've never owned a convertible. I came home and pointed to the 944t and said F that...this is my new track car. I drove all day....the oil color was perfect and didn't move a millimetre on the dipstick. 944 was a half quart or more per day. And the 944 was a handfule to drive.....this was like a Sunday cruise....so smoooooooth. balanced and predictable.

I just did my second event with the s2k and I'm still looking for the limits on the grip. Sure guys with higher HP cars can pull away on the straights but this thing handles beyond expectations...I'm just running dunlop direzzas 225 and 255 setup with some hawk pads and fresh brake lines....other than that...bone stock.

So a couple questions.
One...the stock clutch was slipping a bit today......do most people just replace with stock for track? I'm sure its the original so I think I'm just going to put in a fresh new one? is that the right call? Or is there something more aggressive to consider?

two. IF and I mean IF was to start modding the car I was thinking two things. ( already did pads and brake lines.....I don't really consider that a mod.
  • I'm thinking seats... for weight and better support.