S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

NASA vs SCCA

Old 12-24-2017, 08:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NASA vs SCCA

Hello All,
I'm currently trying to get all the information I need to get into racing (mainly time attack). But I'm new to this and I need a little guidance. Which is better NASA or SCCA as far as a group/club to race under? Or should I just do random track days? Is it even possible to just show up to track days to race?
Just a little info on my car if it helps.
2006 AP2
Engine: F22c1 boosted (Science of Speed stage2 Supercharger) 434hp/275tq
Wheels and tires: I will either be on 17x8.5/9.5 +32 TC105n with RE71r or 18x10 +35 (square) with AD08r for track days
Suspension: KWv3

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
DJ
Old 12-24-2017, 09:22 PM

Received 66 Likes on 37 Posts

SCCA Doesnt really have a track time attack format, sounds like NASA it is.

Your car is likely to land in NASA TT2/ST2. You will be up against corvettes on hoosiers. Its do-able but you will be at a torque and tire disadvantage. If you want to go wheel to wheel you are at a serious disadvantage from a fuel perspective (running a 30min race with no starvation issues will be a challenge).

You could de-tune a bit (bleed boost off) and get into TT3/ST3 where its all M3's and mustangs for the most part.

Many track day organizations are now running time trial format competitions, but YMMV based on region.

NASA's HPDE program, then a jump to TT is a good start. Figure out what you want and where you need to fit for your car and skill level by just starting to drive.
Old 12-25-2017, 03:28 AM

Originally Posted by anorexicpoodle
SCCA Doesnt really have a track time attack format, sounds like NASA it is.