S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Random helmet questions

Old 05-01-2019, 08:14 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Random helmet questions

I'm fairly new to tracking so forgive me if these questions are dumb.

Is an SA2010 helmet approved for use DURING the 2020 season or does it need to be replaced PRIOR to the season? Does it change depending on the organizer?

When do the helmets with the newest ratings come out? Will the SA2020 helmets start appearing prior to the season like new car models? Or later on? I'd like to avoid buying a 2015 helmet if the 2020 will be out soon after.

Do you feel like spending significantly more money on a much nicer helmet is worth it in my case (as opposed to a $150ish one)? I'm running a mostly stock car with stock seats/belts and a rollbar. The car is street driven, though the amount of street driving is seeing a steady decline.

I could see seats/harnesses/HANS at some point in the future - Probably a couple years from now. Am I getting more safety with a more expensive helmet, or is it more about getting lighter materials and higher general build quality? Something else i should be looking for/at?
Old 05-01-2019, 08:53 AM

Received 250 Likes on 147 Posts

Most organizations won't have a problem with the 2010 helmet even after 2020. I know NASA enforces the 10 year rule, but the smaller orgs around me don't care if it has a SA rating.

I would recommend getting at least a SA2015 so you can get the HANS posts pre-installed. For SA2010 you have to drill yourself. No idea on release schedules for 2020.

I bought my new helmet from Murray Motorsports. It is much more comfortable than the cheap Amazon ones. They felt like they were squeezing my forehead and sometimes gave me a headache. My new OMP fits my head perfectly and is much lighter too.
Old 05-01-2019, 09:17 AM

Originally Posted by roel03