S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Wiring system for a race car Wiring system on a diet

Old 11-06-2012, 02:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wiring system for a race car Wiring system on a diet

Folks, I have searched but could not find a project on how to remove the unnecessary wires from a dedicated track car. I am referring to AC control wires, automatic windows, front head lights and so on. I only would like to keep my rear lights, ECU and of course engine harness.

I am thinking of removing all harness then removing unwanted wires wrap everything back and install again. I am not an electric engineer and I am not savvy when it comes to wiring : / However, if I remove the unwanted wires by tracing what have been unplugged this should do the trick no? I know it will require a lot of work but all my unplugged wires now are wrapped in a giant bundle zip tied. Wiring is getting out of hand and it seems always in the way.

Thoughts?
Old 11-07-2012, 10:44 AM

I'm no expert by any means, but it sounds to me like you have the right idea. Maybe relating the wiring back to the wiring diagrams to double check your work as you go.

A friend of mine lost several pounds of wiring off his VR4 this way.. lol
Old 11-07-2012, 11:00 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

You should be very competent with wiring diagrams before attempting this. You should not just go based on what a wire or harness was plugged into. It might surprise you where some things get their power/signal from. You need to be 100% sure what you're removing isn't necessary, particularly when you're making these changes with the harness outside the car, where it's not possible to test the remaining functions.