S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Yokohama Advan A052 Review | A052 vs RE71R

Old 05-26-2019, 08:03 PM

Received 72 Likes on 45 Posts
Default Yokohama Advan A052 Review | A052 vs RE71R

For starters these tires are amazing. I wanted to give these a shot cause I know what Yokohama is doing with World Time Attack Challenge. They are making crazy grippy tires for the fastest TA cars in the world, so when they made a 200tw (A052) tire following their support of WTAC, it was a no brainer, sort of.

Why sort of? Because RE71R. This tire has dominated for quite some time. And it's the tire I have been running since 2016. The price is right and the grip is too. So how can it be beat? By making up for what it lacks. And the Yoko A052 does so. There is a price to pay for that though, and it's just that, the price. The Yoko is about $70-$100 more per tire. Thats a price difference an average income, average enthusiast will feel. So maybe if you are an avg consumer/casual track day person, these arent for you? Nope not the case. And so my review begins.

The RE71R has mega grip BUT it falls on its face quickly and heat cycles out quickly. My car (Evo X) with me in it weighs anywhere from 3600 - 3750. On 255s I can see a noticable decline in about 4 track days. Mind you i run TA and when i do track days i still only to about 4-6 laps avg. I'm not killing 20-30 min sessions.

The compound:
-The 71s start to heat cycle out after about 4 track days on my car. Where the tire is very blue and the compound itself isnt very soft anymore. They fall off after 2.5 hot laps (255s). I have also run 275s and they hold up for about 4 hot laps.