S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

? clutch poping out of 1st gear ?

Old 10-19-2004, 11:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ? clutch poping out of 1st gear ?

My 04 has 10,000 miles on it and occosionally it violently pops out of first gear. It has started to become more frequent and i am taking it to the dealer this week. I looked and couldn't find anyone else with the problem... am I the only one??
Old 10-19-2004, 11:44 AM

I have never had this happen before. I would think having this happen just once in one time too many. Have it checked.
Old 10-19-2004, 11:58 AM

nope.. my car also seems to pop itself out of first gear sometimes if i am at full throttle and entering vtec.. i figured since my car is a MY00 it was just my clutch pressure plate or something but i am pretty new to this car so i'm not sure.. my transmission and clutch seem to be performing less than par lately.. i have A LOT of clutch buzz at certain decel speeds and its getting annoying too.. i'm most worried about my gearbox however as there are times i can feel resistance when moving the shifter from gear to gear.. it almost feels like the gears aren't lining up right and there is a metal wall that prevents the shifter from moving into gear.. if i pull the shifter back towards neutral a hair and then try again it slips into gear.. i don't know if this is a terribly bad sign because this is the first car i've owned as a manual so i'm not used to seeing how the components seem to feel different from day to day.. i wish our shifters had a more linear course of movement (it just feels too loose like maybe there are plastic bushings that are too soft or something) i don't know i might just be paranoid but whenever i try to drive fast i cannot shift very quickly if i encounter resistance when changing gears (usually i feel the resistance in the shifter going into first and third.. not so much second and fourth) i don't know if anyone has some advi