S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   S2000 Talk (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/)
-   -   Educate a first time snow driver (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/educate-first-time-snow-driver-1190097/)

roel03 12-03-2018 05:00 AM

Educate a first time snow driver

Looks like at the end of this year I will be moving up north, right in the dead of winter. I've never lived in a place that snows so I am trying to get everything ready.

The main car in question is my daily driver FR-S. It's fairly stock, besides lowering springs. I currently drive on Ventus V-12s.

My main concerns are: will I have trouble driving this car? Should I buy another set of wheels with snow tires? Or buy tires and get them mounted? If there is no snow one day, do you switch back to regular tires or are snow tires fine?

I'm a good driver and understand car control fairly well. Multiple autocross seasons, numerous track days, etc. I'm a very tame driver on the road. Never rush, text, etc.
​​​​​​
Family car is a FWD Corolla. Snow tires on that also?

Sorry to sound so ignorant, but trying to alleviate my concerns.

Thanks for any help! S2000 will be in storage for the winter.

Deckoz 12-03-2018 05:39 AM

you should buy some all season tires.

if you've never driven in snow, leave your traction control in the frs/brz

the corolla will be easier to drive.

i think you should be fine as long as you are cautious.

your bigger concern is black ice, you cannot see it. and since you aren't from the north, you probably don't have an eye for picking the spots it could exist.

​​​​​​​good luck, just take it easy on the roads if its below freezing or snowy.

TsukubaCody 12-03-2018 05:46 AM

100000% buy snow tires. All season tires are not good in snow and snow tires aren't just for snow. They're for dry/wet roads when under 40F too.

engifineer 12-03-2018 06:25 AM