S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   S2000 Talk (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/)
-   -   Mugen Computer (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/mugen-computer-754/)

JohnE 10-30-2000 03:48 PM

I just noticed that Mugen makes a computer for the S2000. Any power increase or other reason to buy one?

thanks in advance!

funcar 11-01-2000 11:16 AM

First of all I am not an expert but I know people who are.

I was expressing my disappointment about the Spoon exhaust upgrade to a friend of mine that works in a local tuner shop.
They do mostly the 'F' & 'P' cars and they build a lot of fast toys for really rich people.
Anyway
He told me he wasn't surprised at the outcome of the dyno. He said the first thing he would do if it were his car is get a progammable ECU. He recommended Motronic, and then put the car on the dyno and tune the car. I won't go into all the details but he said no two engines are alike even if the same guy builds both. But we all(stock) have the same maps in the ECU.
Tune the ECU to your car, then you make a mod, remap the ECU, you decide to run 98 oct, get a map for that, and so on.

another .02

funcar 11-01-2000 11:39 AM

The Motronic was $2500. And does not include dyno time and programming.
I am going a week from Friday to talk to them about it in person and find out things like, can it be programmed for the security chip in the key? or can it store multiple maps?
One more thing, you can forget about the warranty if you go this route.

Pepe 11-01-2000 01:42 PM

Funcar:

Unless you plan on using your car just for the track and ocasional drives around don't do the Programmable ECU. I know as I use to tune/program ECUs for various of Puerto Rico's fastests 4 cylinder doorslammers (drag cars)

First: You will have to butcher the whole wiring harness. Trial and error stuff.

Second: Kiss the factory warranty good bye