S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   S2000 Talk (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/)
-   -   S2k vs itself (looking at buying) (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/s2k-vs-itself-looking-buying-105905/)

Xenious 02-19-2003 08:15 AM

S2k vs itself (looking at buying)

I've read through all the various S2k vs X car threads and thought I would just ask some questions of the owners here based on the S2k itself.

FYI my current cars are a 97 del Sol Si and a 01 CRV LE (the del Sol would be the one being replaced)

I've always dug the S2k since it first came out. I consider it (don't be offended if you dislike del Sol's) the next iteration of the Sol (though obviously more racing designed).

I want a new car that will give me the same thrill as the del Sol (but with more power :) ). I will say that I have yet to test drive an s2k as I'm still learning to drive a manual transmission (yes yes it is sad I know ahha).

Things that bug me on the S2k:
1) no rear speakers
2) poor factory stereo (easy enough to fix this tho)
3) no auto climate control (I may be wrong on this one...does it let you set a temp and then automatically maintain it?)
4) low torque
5) I think the soft top is a bit too tall looking and needs cropping
6) no power seats

Things I like:
1) the look
2) Honda quality (I've owned 1 acura and 4 hondas)
3) Interior feel (it has a nice cockpit feeling like my del Sol)
4) high RPMs (true you can have power with other cars at low RPMS, but I like revving up the engine)
5) The added glass rear window and tweeters for '03

And questions:
1) does the soft-top open and retract well? I'm so used to the targa top on my sol and have never owned a soft top convertable.
2) Does the stereo mod well? (amps, rear speakers, subs etc) I know there is a shortage of space to put things in the car.