S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

So many knock offs.....

Old 08-05-2003, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So many knock offs.....

As I look through the market place and group buy forums I'm realizing that guys are replicating just about everything out there. I personally try my hardest to buy the real jdm stuff, but I know that can get really expensive. What can I say, I even have a j's style hood.

When a guy comes out with a j's front for example that cost around $200 less than the real thing its hard to opt for the real. I'm just wondering if there are any legal implications in buying a product, copying it exactly and then selling it to the public. I'm no legal expert, but isn't this similar to plagarism?

If I was one of the jdm companies who spent a lot of $$ in r&d to develop a product just to have others duplicate it, I'd be really pissed.

It seems like the only reason someone hasn't tried to knock off a mugen bumper or hood is because King Motorsports is so involved in the forum and would not allow it.

Post your opinions please.
Old 08-05-2003, 06:34 PM

Well, we all know that the knock offs are never as good in quality as the original. Therefore, they are not really "exactly like the original". Technically, it is plagiarism (as you mentioned), but I think that in this market the only thing to protect you is your own knowledge. If you buy a knock off for cheaper than the real thing, then you won't have grounds for complaining if it's cheap in quality and breaks easily.
Old 08-05-2003, 06:45 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Not only that, but the specific design is copyrighted. And due to international treaties, if it is copyrighted in Japan, it is here too.

It's the same with designer bags. There's plenty of fake Gucci and Louis Vuitton out there, and any knock-offs can be confiscated and destroyed (and are, before they get to the consumer) when the manufacturer complains.