S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   S2000 Talk (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/)
-   -   Tire Changing Question (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-talk-1/tire-changing-question-745312/)

FDfranklin 11-13-2009 08:47 AM

Tire Changing Question

Im fairly new to owning my s2000 and got my first flat with it today (2004 s2k), my question is do I need a tire key to get the tire off or am I just to much of a weakling to get the bolts loose? :ponder:

thomsbrain 11-13-2009 09:02 AM

Are you talking about the lug nuts?

FDfranklin 11-13-2009 09:05 AM

Originally Posted by thomsbrain,Nov 13 2009, 10:02 AM
Are you talking about the lug nuts?

Yes. I know I sound like a complete noob but ive never owned a car long enough that ive had to change a tire, that or luck. :tipwink:

patinum 11-13-2009 09:09 AM

If you have wheel locks on , then you'll need a key. A wheel lock will be completely round on the outside (not hexagonal like a regular lug nut).

If you have all regular lug nuts, then you'll probably have to strong arm it. Most shops will just take an impact wrench to tighten your lug nuts - which usually over-tightens them. The proper method is to use a torque wrench and torque to 80lb ft.

Every time I'm forced to take my car to the dealer or a shop and have the wheels taken off, I immediately undo and properly torque my wheels. At times, I'll have to use a long breaker bar to loosen them. You'll hear a creaking sound - evidence that they used an impact wrench and over-tightened.

Careful though because if you lug nut has been cross-threaded to the wheel stud, then you can end up sheering off the bolt. Not sure why I say careful because if it's crossthreaded you're SOL anyway. But getting a new wheel stud can be a pain in the ass. (Expensive because it involves taking apart the hub assembly which usually requires new wheel bearings).

dammitjim 11-13-2009 09:20 AM