S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

5-lb LiFePO4 battery for S2000

Old 05-13-2014, 01:52 PM

Received 3,361 Likes on 2,444 Posts

Originally Posted by 280Z-06
I have some real world experience that you guys may find useful.

First, you have to take a look at what each battery is actually designed for. All of these super lightweight (3 pounds or less) are made for powersports and NOT automotive use. While they MAY work for a little while, using them "out of spec" will overwork them and certainly cause premature failure. If you don't mind replacing it every couple years and want to risk the chance of it failing at an inconvenient time (all for a few more pounds of savings), then have at it.

Being one who does not want to deal with a battery failure at all and would prefer to have a lithium battery that will last 10-15 years, I chose to go with a lithium battery actually made for automotive (daily driver and track) applications. Sure, a battery with more power & capacity will cost more up front, but will deliver the kind of power, performance and reliability that most of us want from our cars and the battery.

I decided to go with the Braille GreenLite GU1R lithium battery that came out last year at SEMA. This is a 6.6 pound lithium battery that is designed for the Import Tuner market and even small block V8 street cars, hot rods, etc. http://www.braillebattery.com/index....al_media_award I decided to replaced the 55 pound Group 49 battery in my daily driven 2000 BMW 540i 6-speed (with 4.4 liter V8) with this battery. I immediately noticed the quicker starting due to the improved electrical performance from lithium and smoother acceleration. Shedding 50 pounds is always a good thing, but relative since it's a 4000 pound car and almost the same ratio as using it in the S.