S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Car bogs under WOT, full pedal

Old 01-02-2008, 03:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car bogs under WOT, full pedal

This just started happening today.Drove to work all was normal and all was well, driving home yes car was warmed up all 3 bars, under FULL THROTTLE, the engine feels like its bogging and down on power, it hits vtec but its not running 100% I noticed if I put the pedal to the floor, and then come off it a little its catching up or something and accelerates faster like its running too rich? The car has 21k on it, and well maintained. I did the MAP sensor whack, all air lines look to be in place, what would cause all of this all of a sudden, I doubt its this sudden cold snap any ideas? It very weird when I put the pedal to the ground the engine just bogs, but if I feather it it will accelerate better wtf?
Could this be bad fuel?
Old 01-02-2008, 04:46 PM

Im new to the s2000 but in my experience with other cars, sounds like it could be water in fuel, dirty fuel injectors. easiest and cheapest quick fix (just to try, it might not work, like I said, new to S) buy fuel from another store ( I use the same BP at the top of my neighborhood. you might go to same store) Try a bottle of injector cleaner. I am assuming you are filling up with premium by the way. It could be worse, you might need a compression test or something. Good luck.
Old 01-02-2008, 05:15 PM
Former Moderator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

See this thread:

https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=553872

Sound familiar? Ended up being bad gas.
Old 01-02-2008, 05:32 PM

Okay I just filled up with Chevron 93 Octane, and used the Techron concentrate to see if that was the issue. We recently had a deep cold snap and temperatures have been freezing lately. I will see if the fresh gas and injector cleaner, fixes it.
Old 01-02-2008, 05:34 PM
Former Moderator

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts