S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Clanking.. clutch area? pressure plate loose bolts. took apart, put it together and still clanking.. NEED HELP

Old 04-08-2012, 03:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clanking.. clutch area? pressure plate loose bolts. took apart, put it together and still clanking.. NEED HELP

Hello, so a few days ago when decelerating I would here this clanking kind of noise that sounded to be coming from the clutch area... its a definent noise that is coming that area. about 5 months ago I replaced the clutch on it with a formula one racing stage 2 clutch and pressure plate. I thought it might be the flywheel since the clutch was reletivly new. I order the prolite act. So I drop everything and I find that 4 pressure plate bolts were loose, 2 of which were backed half way out. I figure this was my problem (didn't use loctite) ... I'm no huge mechanic but I do all my work on my vehicles.. always have. I checked out the clutch and flywheel and I didn't see anything that stood out to me when it was out of the car. I installed the the new flywheel and put the clutch and pressure plate back on, i installed the pressure plate with 6 more lbs ft. and loctite this time at 25ft.lbs. I put everything back together. Went and drove it. Seeemed fine at first.. 3 miles I could lightly hear something.. got on it a little, 6 miles in it was making that same clanking noise but worse. not only when decelerating but when at a steady speed I could really here it making noise and clanking. when I put a little bit of gas to the pedal it would kinda go away... It doesnt' sound anywhere near for the drive shaft. It sounds completely find when reving in neutral so its not the brand new flywheel. Can anyone shed light on this.... I just dropped the tranny and did all this work and got it together to find out I have to tear it all apart again... is it the pressure plate... did it get shot because it was loose before? I can ony see it b