S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Cylinder wall gouge PLEASE HELP!!!! IM A ROOKIE

Old 02-02-2017, 06:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cylinder wall gouge PLEASE HELP!!!! IM A ROOKIE

I posted this on another forum but i dont think its active so ill try again here.

This is my first project, and i have nothing but time to get this s2000 running. Before swapping engines i want to try and do my first rebuild (i have put air in tires is the most ive ever done really mechanically, but you have to learn sometime). I have been taking my time with it, got the engine and tranny droped, engine is on a stand. Today i finally got the head off and 3 of my cylinders look outstanding....1 of them though.......not so good.
I have a more than a scratch, its a gouge on my # 4 piston wall. Ive read if your fingernail can feel it scraping across the surface its bad and needs to be fixed. I dont need my fingernail to tell me there is a gouge going vertical along the wall.I can feel it with gloves on just rubbing it. I will add a picture ( my tablet sucks at pictures and distorted alot of them so i really only have 1 visible picture that isnt warped to hell).

My question is do you think this can be bored out? has anyone seen crazy gouges ( not a fingernail scratch) and fixed it in a f20c? DO i have any other options if it cant be bored? is my block ruined?

Old 02-02-2017, 06:51 AM

Received 56 Likes on 39 Posts

That will need sleeved.
Old 02-02-2017, 07:03 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts