S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Installed Tein Coilovers ..... Adjusting Ride Height?

Old 12-12-2003, 11:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installed Tein Coilovers ..... Adjusting Ride Height?

Hey everyone,

Just installed a set of Tein RS coilovers myself, but couldn't figure out how to adjust the ride height. Did a search and came up with nothing. I've tried messing around with the wrenches that came with the coilovers...trying to twist one clockwise and the other counterclockwise, but they don't move at all. Unfortunately I don't have instructions and I looked on Tein's site, but wasn't much help. Any info you guys might have would be great~!

Here's my installation experience (please note I have no prior experience, so my terminology may be WAY off):

After reading up and seeing that people claimed installation took them only 2-4 hours, I figured it would take me 6, because it always seems to take me longer since something ALWAYS seems to go wrong, but I still wanted to do it myself.

First I removed the trunk liner and the spare tire in order to get to the top of the assembly. Then I placed the car on jackstands and removed the tires. I started with the rears first. Removing the stock assembly wasn't difficult at all, except for removing the lower joint bolt, because I didn't realize that you had to hammer the bolt through after you had twisted it to a certain point, then continue twisting it again (since there were no threads in the middle). Maneuvering around the inside of the trunk was difficult, but not too bad after I removed the rear strut bar. Also the bottom hole of the Tein coilover was not lining up perfectly with the arm, but having someone there to push down the arm while I lined up the bolt was crucial.