S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

questions on clutch master cylinder

Old 02-25-2010, 12:04 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default questions on clutch master cylinder

it seems i have a very slow leaking master clutch cylinder. about a year ago i noticed my clutch felt really bad one day when driving it. i checked the fluid and it was almost empty. so i flushed the clutch fluid and filled it back up, and after that the clutch felt great. about 6 months after doing the flush i noticed something starting to not feel right in the engagement point of my clutch. so i go to check my fluid and the fluid level had dropped from full to inbetween the min and max mark in a matter of 5-6 months. plus it was black. i get under the dash and look around the cluth pedal and i noticed some black fluid around the master cylinder that felt and smelled some what like brake fluid. so i automaticaly assume i have a bad master cylinder. i just did another flush until i get a new master cylinder, but the clutch still doesnt feel quite right.

i did some search, but couldnt really find the answers. so my questions are...

-Is the clutch master cylinder the same on all years? i know the slave cylinder is different. just not sure on the master...
-After replacing the master cylinder will i need to re-adjust the pedal for the engagement point?
-And last question is where is the full engagement poitn on the clutch? mine starts to grab a little after mid release and comepltely grabs right at the end release of the pedal. i am sking this because i remember have a little bit of play from after the clutch grabbed till the pedal was fully released. could this and the weird feeling in the clutch be because of my bad master cylinder?

thanks in advance. sorry it is kind of long :\
Old 02-25-2010, 12:22 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts