S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

New-car electronics

Old 11-06-2017, 08:27 AM

Received 106 Likes on 78 Posts
Default New-car electronics

Rob's post about his Si reminded me that I wanted to start a discussion on this subject. Between my 2016 BMW and Barbara's 2017 Lexus I've had some recent experience with new car electronics. The BMW was ordered with only the electronics that come standard. i did not get the technology package. Barbara's car has the the full technology compliment of equipment.

I find the BMW's electronics fairly easy to use. The dial and screen that accompany the base system is pretty easy to figure out. The menus are also pretty easy to remember and subjects are logically arranged. Using the dial and a push button, you can get where you want to go pretty quickly. The car has no lane departure warning, proximity warning, or any other "look out, you are going to crash" features. The car is missing two things that I wish it had. A back-up camera (really should be standard and I guess it is now, due to mandates) and voice command. I miss voice command for making phone calls. The dial and push button work ok, but spelling out names is a bit too distraction for my liking. I do not have in-car GPS. My iPhone takes care of that...EXCEPT because the phone is bluetoothed to the car, the step by step voice commands do not function!!! ARRRGH.