S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

Aging

Old 02-12-2018, 03:48 PM

Received 1,403 Likes on 763 Posts
Default Aging

We have two neighbors, the husband of each who has developed Alzheimer's. It is really sad to see the effects of this horrible disease on these two, otherwise healthy, men, as they slowly deteriorate mentally. This has to be especially hard on their spouses, who now have to take care of everything. One of the couples still walk their dog daily (as we do,) and Saturday we met them and she slipped me a note with their name, address, and phone number asking me to please call her if I saw her husband wandering. She said she was giving a note like that to all us "dog walkers."

Just hope that none of us ever get into this situation.
Old 02-12-2018, 04:24 PM

Received 3,500 Likes on 2,367 Posts

I watched my father-in-law slip away that way.
I'm a digital engineer. My life is ones and zeroes, on and off.
It's how I hope to live out my life, on until I'm off. None of this in between, fading away crap.

I'd recommend they look into some of the senior GPS trackers. https://smartwatches.org/learn/best-...-gps-trackers/
It could be important in finding them during bad weather.
Old 02-12-2018, 04:32 PM

Received 2,744 Likes on 1,619 Posts

Originally Posted by jukngene
We have two neighbors, the husband of each who has developed Alzheimer's. It is really sad to see the effects of this horrible disease on these two, otherwise healthy, men, as they slowly deteriorate mentally. This has to be especially hard on their spouses, who now have to take care of everything. One of the couples still walk their dog daily (as we do,) and Saturday we met them and she slipped me a note with their name, address, and phone number asking me to please call her if I saw her husband wandering. She said she was giving a note like that to all us "dog walkers."

Just hope that none of us ever get into this situation.