S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

Stress, the economy and what it does to people

Old 10-09-2009, 03:52 AM

Received 2,763 Likes on 1,624 Posts
Default Stress, the economy and what it does to people

This recession has been stressful for many. Many folks (me included) have spent some sleepless nights worried about employment situations. It's still too quiet where I work and I won't be surprised to get reduced hours again next year. Other economic situations have surfaced, but we are weathering the storm.

An online article spoke of how much stress folks are feeling. Worried about their jobs, being pushed to do more at their jobs, losing jobs, taking care of kids at the same time as dealing with aging parents. Lots going on for folks.

This morning I heard that the owner of a business I have been doing business with for 25+ years passed away. His business, like many, has had a downturn in the last year or so. He had family members and long time employees working for him. He truly cared about his employees ( don't see that too often) and agonized about lay offs. I know this because he spoke to me about it.

This man was the nicest guy in the world. Everyone who knew him spoke highly of him.

I think he was in his early to mid 60's at best, and I don't know if he did/didn't have any physical issues, but he's gone way too soon. I obviously have no inside information, but I'd find it hard to believe that stress didn't play a huge part here. I'm still hoping the report of his death turns out to be a "waterfront rumor."

I think stress truly can kill.
Old 10-09-2009, 04:18 AM

Received 4,944 Likes on 2,998 Posts