S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

What Memorial day means to me.

Old 05-27-2017, 03:25 PM

Received 1,178 Likes on 906 Posts
Default What Memorial day means to me.

I was an F4C pilot in the AF.

My dad was a B17 lower ball turret gunner over Germany during WW2. He flew many missions over Germany. When he died, at the cemetery, I was given the American flag that was draped over his casket just after he was lowered into the ground. I hang that flag in front of our garage door every Memorial Day and Fourth of July.

My uncle George, whom I was named after, was killed at Tarawa in WW2. He was in a foxhole with a bunch of Marines and the Japanese lobbed a grenade in the foxhole. He jumped on it and saved all his buddies. He was awarded the Medal of Honor posthumously.

Last edited by The Raptor; 05-28-2017 at 04:14 AM.
Old 05-28-2017, 06:28 AM

Received 695 Likes on 471 Posts

Originally Posted by The Raptor
I was an F4C pilot in the AF.

My dad was a B17 lower ball turret gunner over Germany during WW2. He flew many missions over Germany. When he died, at the cemetery, I was given the American flag that was draped over his casket just after he was lowered into the ground. I hang that flag in front of our garage door every Memorial Day and Fourth of July.

My uncle George, whom I was named after, was killed at Tarawa in WW2. He was in a foxhole with a bunch of Marines and the Japanese lobbed a grenade in the foxhole. He jumped on it and saved all his buddies. He was awarded the Medal of Honor posthumously.
Your uncle George, a true hero, and many others who made the ultimate sacrifice is what Memorial Day means to me. God Bless all of them and may they RIP. We will be honoring all of them at a special ceremony at our club today.
Old 05-28-2017, 07:33 AM

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Never forget........

Old 05-28-2017, 08:09 AM

Received 1,552 Likes on 921 Posts