S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Grinding all gears... not the clutch?

Old 06-22-2017, 01:42 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Grinding all gears... not the clutch?

MY PROBLEM: I seem to be grinding gears about 1 of 20 shifts randomly. When I shift, the clutch is to the floor (I have been driving a multitude of manual cars for over 10 years), so I am certain that it's not my driving. I have tried shifting slow, fast, gentle pressure, waiting a second after pushing the clutch in, and every other shifting technique I could think of to let the synchronizers do their job. The grinding still happens with about the same frequency no matter what I do. It happens with all gears, which would usually point to the clutch. However, it seems like the clutch is disengaging just fine: I can shift into reverse no problem. When I'm cruising and push the clutch in, the revs immediately drop. I can free rev in-gear with the clutch pressed in. The car doesn't move forward at all with the clutch pressed in while in gear at a stoplight.

THINGS I'VE DONE TO TRY TO FIX THE PROBLEM: clutch pedal adjust, flush and bleed the clutch system, replaced transmission oil with Honda MTF, replaced and greased both shifter bushings.

HYPOTHESIS: Unless the clutch is just slightly engaged but not enough to prevent the revs from dropping (when I'm cruising and push the pedal down, for example), then it has to be the synchros. Isn't it sort of odd though? I don't usually hear about people having synchro problems in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th all at once! What else can I do to determine if it's the clutch? I'm debating getting a used transmission but I don't want to invest hundreds if it's not the synchros.

Thanks!
Old 06-22-2017, 02:30 PM

Received 1,129 Likes on 992 Posts

Are you up-shifting below 4300 rpm? Try shifting in the 4300-5000 rpm range.

-- Chuck
Old 06-22-2017, 04:05 PM

Received 343 Likes on 320 Posts

Could also