S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

High Blood Pressure?

Old 12-20-2017, 10:06 PM

Received 2,966 Likes on 1,651 Posts
Default High Blood Pressure?

What's your story? I'm new to this and ironing out my denial/first medication/next medication.
Old 12-21-2017, 12:09 AM

Received 2,585 Likes on 1,566 Posts

For years I had what's called white-coat HBP, that is mine was normal except when visiting the doc or something like that. Then it would shoot up a lot. I happened to visit the ER last May for another reason (feeling faint but did not faint) and it was up there, so the ER doc said even if he did not find anything else wrong (he didn't), maybe I should go on a low dose (5 mg a day) of BP med. I did and it has worked very well even at the doc appts. I do not take any other meds and do not like taking meds at all, but this has helped so I'm good with it.
Old 12-21-2017, 03:12 AM

Received 2,966 Likes on 1,651 Posts

Originally Posted by MsPerky
For years I had what's called white-coat HBP, that is mine was normal except when visiting the doc or something like that. Then it would shoot up a lot. I happened to visit the ER last May for another reason (feeling faint but did not faint) and it was up there, so the ER doc said even if he did not find anything else wrong (he didn't), maybe I should go on a low dose (5 mg a day) of BP med. I did and it has worked very well even at the doc appts. I do not take any other meds and do not like taking meds at all, but this has helped so I'm good with it.
I was on 10 and then 5 mg, but felt so shitty I quit 5 days ago. I'm waiting to see what's prescribed next. Lisinopril is out. What do you take, Deb?
Old 12-21-2017, 04:29 AM

Received 2,744 Likes on 1,619 Posts