S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Question on Handling

Old 05-08-2018, 06:02 AM

Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Question on Handling

Hi All,

New owner here (happy, elated owner, that is). Question - the car is wonderful and in excellent shape, but I have a question on handling characteristics. It handles great - so much different than any car I've had in the past, including my RSX Type-S. However, I wanted to know if some things I feel are normal, or might be tire issues, etc.

The car has mismatched summers on the front and back (front to back, not right to left). All are proper OEM sizes (BF G-Super Sport A/S in front and BF G-Force Comp-2 A/S in back) and proper pressure. Sometimes there feels like a little odd tracking in the rear, mostly when on grooved pavement/uneven. I'm still learning the characteristics of the car, and I notice it more when I have one hand at 12:00 only, rather then at 10 and/or 2. I don't know if this is because in my daily I'm used to the minor corrections you normally make in the wheel, and the S2000 is so sensitive that those unconscious corrections cause the car to move a little. Nothing feels loose or worn - I think it's just learning the car... thoughts?

I also notice some oversteer when shifting in a turn - like when making a left turn, shifting from first to second, when I push the clutch in, I get a bit of unanticipated oversteer. Again, still learning the car, and every manual I've owned has been front wheel drive.

Let me know your thoughts. My God, I LOVE this car. Thanks!

- Mike
Old 05-08-2018, 07:06 AM

Received 79 Likes on 69 Posts

S2000s are very sensitive to tire pressure. Make sure they are bang on. Mismatched tires are obviously not ideal. Don't be doing a lot of high RPM shifting in corners, especially until you spent some time with the car.
Old 05-08-2018, 07:11 AM

Received 1,562 Likes on 928 Posts