S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Kangarooing and lurching 1st gear?

Old 03-16-2019, 06:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kangarooing and lurching 1st gear?

What's up guys... I recently bought an 01 model with 64k miles on it, it's in great shape and just passed inspection. Sometimes when i'm releasing the clutch in first gear from a complete stop the car is kangarooing/lurching forward.. I found that if I hold the sweet spot on the clutch a bit longer that it's smoother when l release. I read that this is a common thing but not sure if there is anything wrong with the clutch or sensors or maybe i'm just not use to the car yet. I'm not an experienced manual driver by any means, i'm still learning but sometimes it just doesn't feel right when i'm releasing the clutch slowly. Any feedback is appreciated, thanks in advance!
Old 03-16-2019, 07:17 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I also experienced this in the beginning, but it really feels like once you learn more about your car, you get a lot better. At this point I rarely ever get the lurching unless I released the clutch too quickly and gave it too much throttle.
Try giving it a little gas when you start releasing the clutch, and smoothly give it more throttle as you release, you’ll kind of feel the difference between what’s happening now and what should be happening.

play around with it. You might also find if you don’t give it a lot of gas the car wants to just move along forward really slowly, and practice giving it different levels of gas, you’ll find out where it’s lurchcing.
The following users liked this post:
CryptoPapi2k (03-18-2019)
Old 03-16-2019, 12:00 PM

Received 221 Likes on 164 Posts

It's really pretty common behavior on most manual transmission vehicles. Heck I'm pretty sure you could do it with a fire truck. What happens is that as the car rocks, your foot pulses the accelerator pedal. It's really a matter of experience.