Money and Investing Discuss stock picks, portfolios, retirement and other investment related topics.

Has anyone ever used or heard of Worldpay?

Thread Tools
 
Old Jan 22, 2007 | 02:09 PM
  #1  
Oz2's Avatar
Oz2
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
From: Columbia
Default Has anyone ever used or heard of Worldpay?

Im wanting to buy a car from a guy who said that he is in germany and his car I want is in new york. He said we can use worldpay to do the transaction. However I have never used this company or heard of it. There website looks legit. Is this safe? I pay 20k for the car they send it to me, if I decide to keep it they send him the money. What are your thoughts?
Thanks
Reply
Old Jan 22, 2007 | 04:01 PM
  #2  
trapper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,408
Likes: 14
From: Exeter, NH
Default

I've paid for a add-on service to my email firewall to: uk.worldpay.com for a couple of years with no problem. However my payments were less than 1/100th of the 20K you're considering.
Reply
Old Jan 22, 2007 | 07:26 PM
  #3  
cthree's Avatar
Administrator
20 Year Member
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 20,274
Likes: 4
From: Toronto, Canada
Default

I'd recommend you insist on doing it through his lawyer in the US in trust.
Reply
Old Jan 22, 2007 | 07:57 PM
  #4  
aralls's Avatar
20 Year Member
Liked
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 468
Likes: 1
From: Kansas City, USA
Default

Um, how did you learn about this car? Is he selling it for quite a bit under market value?
Reply
Old Jan 23, 2007 | 03:56 AM
  #5  
Oz2's Avatar
Oz2
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
From: Columbia
Default

Yeah he is selling it for quite a bit under value. That is why I think it is fishy. If it is too good to be true it probably is. But I have heard of a lot of people using escrow safely but I have never heard of this company. Plus I was wondering if it is possible to get ripped off by escrow some how? Aralls are you looking at a car also out of New York?
Reply
Old Jan 23, 2007 | 06:26 AM
  #6  
QUIKAG's Avatar
25 Year Member
Liked
Loved
Community Favorite
 
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 9,512
Likes: 478
From: Dallas
Default

Would not do it. Smells really bad.
Reply
Old Jan 23, 2007 | 06:38 PM
  #7  
aralls's Avatar
20 Year Member
Liked
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 468
Likes: 1
From: Kansas City, USA
Default

it's a scam. the "escrow" company may be completely fake.
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
s2kS0L
Off-topic Talk
1
Feb 2, 2013 12:18 PM
Synderesis
Off-topic Talk
9
Apr 15, 2011 07:02 AM
Oz2
Off-topic Talk
0
Jan 22, 2007 02:10 PM
hondabert
Off-topic Talk
0
Jun 4, 2003 11:05 PM
Junk_Turbo420A
Off-topic Talk
4
Apr 13, 2003 02:30 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:59 PM.