Sponsor S2000 Suspension, Brake and Handling Deals Sponsor deals on S2000 suspension and S2000 handling products

★ GEN 6 TH SPEC Fortune Auto Coilovers! BEST PRICING GUARANTEED! ★

Old 06-28-2018, 10:59 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
Default ★ GEN 6 TH SPEC Fortune Auto Coilovers! BEST PRICING GUARANTEED! ★

You wanna go fast Ricky Bobby? Well let me tell you about these here coilovers.

Fortune Auto and TH Motorsports have combined their powers to make Will (math nerd) crunch numbers and build suspensions.

I've been building mountain bike and dirt bike shocks for over 14 years. I've been playing racecar driver for 10. I MIGHT know a thing or two about how to valve a shock.

So holler, let's have a conversation. Tell me I'm pretty.

So of course, the goal with our platform is to build a shock that can do what the s2000 does best, handle. This is a tall order, stock dampers on s2000s are actually quite good. In fact, many entry level coilovers actually DETRACT from the handling and ride quality.

Many looking into streetable coilovers look towards the Bilstein PSS series. This is a great street coilover, but has its shortcomings. 1. They're on national backorder, nobody has them. 2. They're very soft. Spring rates are barely stiffer than stock CR and they're massively overvalved on the rebound side of things with poor low piston velocity control (doesn't really do much till 3in/sec or more). So this results in a shock that rides REALLY well on the street, but leaves some to be desired on track.

Now a motorsports grade damper uses something that's called a digressive piston or digressive valving. This means that it applies a high amount of damping force at low piston velocities to control body motions, but blows it off at higher velocities to stay settled and composed over large bumps, irregularities, curbing, etc. The tradeoff is that extremely digressive plots with a high nose tend to give up some small bump compliance.