Texas - Central Texas S2000 Owners Central Texas S2000 Owners

AP2 spun rod bearing, where to take in austin?

Old 04-01-2019, 07:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AP2 spun rod bearing, where to take in austin?

99.9% sure I spun a rod bearing friday night in my s2000. I'm somewhat new to austin, can anyone recommend a honda expert here? I have my 996tt worked on by boost logic but I'm not sure if they see a lot of s2000s so I'd prefer a shop w/ more focus on hondas.
Old 04-02-2019, 07:12 AM

Originally Posted by Coil222
99.9% sure I spun a rod bearing friday night in my s2000. I'm somewhat new to austin, can anyone recommend a honda expert here? I have my 996tt worked on by boost logic but I'm not sure if they see a lot of s2000s so I'd prefer a shop w/ more focus on hondas.
I've used Auto Spec (Auto Repair | Round Rock+Georgetown | Auto-Spec) for a while and they've always been great. They don't focus on Honda's in particular, but they have quite a few S2000 customers and lots of other small Japanese cars.
I've also heard good things about and been meaning to try Badger Motorsports (https://www.badgermotorsports.com/), they have limited shop space so I don't know if they'd do something like this though, you'd have to ask.

Good luck, and welcome to Austin!

EDIT: since this post I've also gotten to the point where I need an engine rebuild. Followed up with Badger Motorsports and they will hold your car while they pull the engine out and ship it off to a machine shop to do whatever work on the engine needs to be done. They have a small shop though so work that requires that a car be taking up space for a while may have a wait list.

Last edited by SamWhited; 07-22-2019 at 08:51 AM.
Old 06-05-2019, 04:33 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

So I just did the same on my AP1. Dammit.
What did you end up doing?
Old 06-05-2019, 08:08 PM

Received 76 Likes on 68 Posts