Texas - North Texas S2000 Owners North Texas S2000 Owners Club
North Texas Club

New to autocross

Old 08-25-2015, 06:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to autocross

So I'd like to do some autocross to learn how to better drive my car and of course be able to legally drive it at the limit a bit. All of my cars to this point have been FWD so my only real RWD experience has been in my F150. Went to a couple autocross events back when I was 16 and spent a few weekends driving rotax karts around that time too but otherwise have no experience.

Can anyone suggest what a complete newbie to autocross do? I live near TMS and would like to come to those events but don't want to just show up clueless...
Old 08-25-2015, 06:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There are several different organizations that you can autocross with - SCCA, BMW, NTX S2000, and the list goes on. If you wanted, you could go practically every weekend. Clueless is the best way. Just show up with your car in good shape to pass tech, pay attention to the newbie course walk, then walk walk walk the course until it closes, and ride along with as many people as possible. Everyone is friendly and willing to help if you are willing to listen. Since you are new, you will be able to run in the novice class, which will somewhat negate any mods that you have on your car. If your car is stock, leave it that way (except changing your fluids and upgrading your brake pads). Don't even worry about tires at 1st. Just focus on being consistent and improving every run. As your skill level increases you will then make the decision as to what class you will want to run, which will determine what mods you can make to your car. The 3 most important things - 1) Go with an open mind 2) Make sure your car is prepped 3)Have fun

Basically your day will break down like this:
Leave at the buttcrack of dawn to get there in enough time to tech your car and walk the course multiple times and chat with others