UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Vibration from rear end under acceleration

Old 01-17-2013, 11:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vibration from rear end under acceleration

Good evening,

Car has developed a vibration from the rear end, starting to get worse.

Around town and below 4k all seems fine, however when you start accelerating over 4k you can feel and hear a vibration from the back end. It's at is worse when accelerating in 4th, 5th and 6th over 4k, vibrating through the whole rev range, although it can also be felt in 2nd and 3rd when knocking the revs right up towards and through vtec. If you come off the throttle it seems to stop, however going back on the throttle it starts to vibrate again.

I'm not a mechanic and have very little idea about anything drivetrain wise. Engine feels fine, gearbox is sweet so my head is saying diff.

What do you think? Any idea on the damage to my wallet?

Russ.
Old 01-17-2013, 12:05 PM

Worn inner CVs. Plenty of threads on it
Old 01-17-2013, 12:32 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Si is talking about the inner CV joints that connect the driveshafts to the differential.
FWIW, the drivetrain goes engine, gearbox, prop shaft, diff, driveshafts, rear wheels.

Swapping the inner CVs round sometimes works, as can adding driveshaft spacers. Both are relatively simple, with the former being the cheapest. Any garage with half an ounce of experience should be able to do either for you.

If you want more info and to see some photos, have a search as Si suggested.
Old 01-17-2013, 12:38 PM

Originally Posted by loftust
Si is talking about the inner CV joints that connect the driveshafts to the differential.
FWIW, the drivetrain goes engine, gearbox, prop shaft, diff, driveshafts, rear wheels.