UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Londoners - Are you still driving in? And paying the Congestion Tax?

Old 02-19-2003, 04:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Londoners - Are you still driving in? And paying the Congestion Tax?

Been away from the board for a while and I noticed not much posted about Ken's Congestion Tax.
I've been driving into work (Moorgate/Bank area) for about 2 years and I don't plan to stop now.
I refuse to use public transport when it's in such a dismal state. The choice of being crammed into a tube with my face in someones armpit or driving in with my own space, my own music and my wife for company - not much of a decision for me. There's many better ways of reducing the traffic in London, but drivers are being shafted as usual.
Anyone else being raped by Ken on this?
Old 02-19-2003, 04:20 AM

I see old Ken cd be facing a shortfall

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2-...-583189,00.html

But early days yet.
Old 02-19-2003, 04:27 AM

Could always buy a bike. Suzuki recently had an advertising campaign which was projected onto the houses of parliament, it simple said 'Theres no C in Suzuki'!!!!!
Old 02-19-2003, 04:40 AM
Administrator

Received 59 Likes on 50 Posts

I am - my dad's getting some special allowance cos of his orange badge (makes him sound like a cripple LOL but hes fine) and he can have 2 cars registered on it - mine will be one of them for all those times I take him around Harrods when he visits from North Wales
Old 02-19-2003, 04:44 AM

Isn't a bike a bit dodgy from a saftety point of view in London traffic, though ?
Old 02-19-2003, 04:46 AM

I work at Bank and usually cycle in from east London as it is quicker and more comfortable than the tube (yes the Mile End Road is actually preferable than a sweaty carraige on the central line).